The Port Commission represents the people of the Port District and sets the policies by which the Executive Director operates the Port. The Port District is divided into three commission districts with one commissioner elected to a six-year term in each of these districts (one of the three commissioners is elected every two years). The members of the Port Commission are dedicated to serving the public, committed to achieving the Port's goals, and focused on improving the economic climate in Klickitat County now and for future generations.

Learn more about your Commissioner (District 1, District 2, or District 3) below. Information is also available on former Port Commissioners. Unsure what commission district you're in? Find out using this district map.

District #1
Photo of James Herman

Jim Herman

Jim's history with the Port dates back to the mid-90s when he served as its financial consultant. Later, he continued to review and contribute to the Port's Annual Report. Jim is a retired certified public accountant who owns and operates Herman and Associates, CPAs PC in White Salmon and brings a wealth of financial knowledge and business accumen to the Port Commission.

PO Box 188
White Salmon, WA 98605
E-mail Address

January 1, 2010 – December 31, 2015 (elected 11/3/2009)
January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2021 (elected 11/3/2015)

(no quote available)

District #2
Photo of William A. Schmitt

Bill Schmitt

Bill previously served as a port commissioner from October 1990 to November 1991. He has also served Klickitat County in other capacities including over nine years as a school board member and eleven years as a fire commissioner. He brings a practical, small-business perspective to the commission and a particular burden for development and economic growth in the Dallesport/Murdock area.

20 Cimmiyotti Rd.
Lyle, WA 98635
E-mail Address

June 1, 2010 – November 29, 2011 (appointed 5/18/2010)
November 29, 2011 – December 31, 2013 (elected 11/8/2011)
January 1, 2014 – December 31, 2019 (elected 11/5/2013)

(no quote available)

District #3
Photo of S. Wayne Vinyard

Wayne Vinyard

The senior member of the Commission, Wayne has helped steer the Port for nearly two decades. A retired forestry manager for Hancock Timber Resource Group, he brings to the Commission an unparalleled understanding of Port history, a background in facilitation, and an up-close-and-personal perspective on the role of natural resources in the local economy.

161 Glenwood Hwy.
Glenwood, WA 98619
E-mail Address

January 1, 1994 – December 31, 1999 (elected 11/2/1993)
January 1, 2000 – December 31, 2005 (elected 11/2/1999)
January 1, 2006 – December 31, 2011 (elected 11/8/2005)
January 1, 2012 – December 31, 2017 (elected 11/8/2011)
January 1, 2018 – December 31, 2023 (elected 11/7/2017)

"My goal is to continue the Port's success in creating a strong, diversified economy with fair lease rates and income sufficient to minimize its dependence on taxes."

Notice: E-mail addresses are initially hidden to prevent them from being automatically harvested by spammers. If your browser has Javascript enabled, you can simply click on any "Show E-mail" button to view the e-mail address and click again to send an e-mail to that address. You can also obtain an e-mail address by sending your request to port(at)portofklickitat(dot)com. We apologize for any inconvenience.